Lavrov Hopes for Fast Ratification of Caspian Sea Convention

Russian Foreign Minister, Sergey Lavrov, expressed hope that the Iranian parliament will soon ratify the Convention on the legal status of the Caspian Sea, which bans the military presence of any non-Caspian countries in the region.  

In August 2018, the heads of the Caspian Five countries (Azerbaijan, Iran, Kazakhstan, Russia, and Turkmenistan) signed the Convention on the Legal status of the Caspian Sea in Aktau, Kazakhstan. The document assigns to the five states exclusive and perfect rights to the sea, responsible development and use of its subsoil and other resources.

“As for the Caspian Sea and preparing the ground for foreign states to interfere in the affairs of the Caspian region, today we have repeatedly stressed to our interlocutors, our friends the need to ensure the entry into force of the Convention on the legal status of the Caspian Sea as soon as possible, which directly prohibits the presence of military forces of any non-Caspian states on the Caspian Sea,” the Minister said.

Lavrov also stated that the Convention will enter into force as soon as the last instrument of ratification is received.

“The issue is currently being considered in the Parliament of the Islamic Republic of Iran. I hope that the decision on ratification will be made quickly, and then the convention will fully become an international legal document ensuring the appropriate regime in the Caspian Sea,” Lavrov concluded.

Ru-Main, 07.10.2021
Source: RIA Novosti

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *