Onegin Prize to Name Best Opera Performers

Petersburg will meet the onset of winter with the ceremony of presenting the Onegin opera prize on the stage of the Mikhailovsky Theater.

The audience will be presented by Sergey Skorokhodov, Polina Shamaeva, Alexey Tatarintsev, Julia Matochkina, Svetlana Moskalenko, Boris Pinhasovich, Olesya Petrova and the chairman of the jury – Sergey Leiferkus.

The winners in the competition will be announced at the ceremony, but the names of those who will be awarded outside the competition are already known. These are the stars of the world opera soprano Angela Georgiu and mezzo-soprano Olga Borodina. Alexei Vedernikov will stand at the console of the Mikhailovsky Theater Symphony Orchestra this evening; Sati Spivakova and Fedor Bondarchuk will lead the ceremony.

The fate of the awards will be decided the day before: a jury meeting will be held on November 30 at the Ambassador Hotel. Among those who decide the fate of young and already well-known artists are Larisa Gergieva, artistic director of the Mariinsky Academy of Young Singers, Sebastian Schwartz, artistic director of Teatro Regio Torino (Italy), and director Vasily Barkhatov.

For the general public would be interesting another event – “Onegin Gala” in the Great Hall of the Philharmonic. The event is scheduled for December 2. The program includes overtures, arias, duets and ensembles from operas and operettas.

The Onegin Prize was established in 2016 by Igor Tarasov, Honored Artist of Russia, and producer Lyubov Glazkova, Director General of ANO Russian Opera Company. The president of the award was Sergei Leiferkus, People’s Artist of Russia.

Ru-Main, 23.11.2019

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *