Three EU Countries to Be Exempted From Embargo on Russian Oil

The EU proposes to give Hungary, Slovakia and the Czech Republic the opportunity to keep importing Russian oil until 2024, as Bloomberg reports. According to the source of Bloomberg, they want to give these countries time to abandon Russian oil until December 31, 2024. 

Picture: News

It is noted that Brussels proposes to introduce the exception for the Czech Republic only until June 30, 2024. At the same time, according to the proposal of the European Commission, all other countries of the union will have to abandon oil imports from Russia by the end of this year. Moreover, as the agency informs, the EU proposes to introduce a ban on Russian oil transportation services in three months.

On May 4, the Head of the EC, Ursula von der Leyen, said that the European Commission, as part of the upcoming sixth package of sanctions against the Russian Federation, considers it necessary to ban the import of all Russian oil to the EU. She noted that the rejection of oil and refined petroleum products from the Russian Federation should take six months and be completed by the end of 2022. At the same time, she acknowledged that it would not be easy to take this step due to the serious dependence of a number of EU members on Russian oil.

Ru-Main, 06.05.2022
Source: Interfax 

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *